Shop Mobile More Submit  Join Login
About Literature / Professional Member MeganSpain Recent Activity
Deviant for 5 Years
Needs Premium Membership
Statistics 298 Deviations 1,350 Comments 12,110 Pageviews

Newest Deviations

Favourites

deviantID

ClayCowboys's Profile Picture
ClayCowboys
Megan
Artist | Professional | Literature
Spain
I just recently got my masters of fine arts degree in creative writing (go me!) and am working on a novel and a steampunk old west miniseries. I love old photographs, vintage clothes, cupcakes, playing guitar, making art, writing, Elvis Presley, trash television, Barack Obama, and BOOKS! :D

Current Residence: Madrid, Spain
Favourite genre of music: Indie, oldies, punk
Favourite photographer: Shelby Lee Adams
Favourite style of art: cartoons, realism, surrealism
Shell of choice: sea
Skin of choice: Hipster
Favourite cartoon character: Belle, Rupert Bear, Miss Bianca, Ariel, Jake
Personal Quote: Don't hate the media! Become the media! ~ Jello Biafra
Interests
  • Mood: Hungry
  • Listening to: 1920's music
  • Reading: Boy's Life. Research Material.
  • Watching: trash television
  • Playing: Simpsons Tapped Out
  • Eating: pizza
  • Drinking: water
I haven't posted a journal in months and in those months, I have thus moved to Spain with the intention of teaching English. I conquered the TEFL course (it really was the longest and shortest four weeks of my life), went home for the holidays, returned in time to start Spanish courses, and start looking for a job. 

A few good things have happened. I've progressed from an absolute beginner in Spanish (A1.1) to A2 in a matter of seven weeks. It's taken some classmates six months to reach that level. So...go me? I've also written a lot. The creative juices are really flowing here. The wine is good, the food is (for the most part) decent, and there are lots of cool people and places to see (including a cat cafe). Then there's the traveling. I hit up Rome last month and will be checking into Belgium next month (and getting my hands on some Belgian chocolate, obviously). Also on my to-visit list are England, France, Ireland, Germany, a few more cities in Italy, and the Netherlands. Until November (when I'll likely return to Estados Unidos), I'll be doing lots of traveling.

Then there's the other side of being abroad. I'm homesick. Obviously. I'm also having trouble finding work. True, I've had my share of interviews, but the results have been dismal. I had one today where I was told that they're not going to hire me because I don't have the experience and that I should maybe look into another TEFL course, but that I should call them back when I get more experience. 

:icongrumpycatnoplz:

I'll vote republican before I call those guys back. 

Until then, I'll just take on one-on-one students. And write. And hang out with the felines at the cat cafe. And drink Spanish wine, obviously. ;)

AdCast - Ads from the Community

Comments


Add a Comment:
 
:icontrigod-allikat:
TriGod-AlliKat Featured By Owner Feb 2, 2015  Hobbyist General Artist
Thank you for the fave!
Reply
:iconclaycowboys:
ClayCowboys Featured By Owner Feb 2, 2015  Professional Writer
No problem. :)
Reply
:iconrustycroutons:
RustyCroutons Featured By Owner Dec 17, 2014   General Artist
Thanks for watching.
Reply
:iconclaycowboys:
ClayCowboys Featured By Owner Dec 18, 2014  Professional Writer
You're very welcome. :)
Reply
:iconmadame-katherine:
Madame-Katherine Featured By Owner Aug 22, 2014  Hobbyist Traditional Artist
Thanks for the +fav  :happybounce: 
Reply
:iconamphitrite7:
Amphitrite7 Featured By Owner Jul 23, 2013
Happy Birthday!
Reply
:iconclaycowboys:
ClayCowboys Featured By Owner Jul 23, 2013  Professional Writer
Thank you! :)
Reply
:iconteano:
TEANO Featured By Owner Jul 23, 2013
Happy birthday!
Reply
:iconclaycowboys:
ClayCowboys Featured By Owner Jul 23, 2013  Professional Writer
Thank you! :)
Reply
:iconartsyfartsygirl2936:
ArtsyFartsyGirl2936 Featured By Owner May 26, 2013  Hobbyist Traditional Artist
Hello, I wanted to stop by and welcome you to :iconelvis-the-king: I hope you have a wonderful time as a member and if you have any questions or feedback be sure to contact me.

TCB
~Founder
Artsy
Reply
Add a Comment: